One day, our club adviser called us for a meeting. We needed to decide who among us should start training for an upcoming competition to be held in Baguio City, and since I was only a freshman then, I already ruled out the possibility of being chosen. I decided to skip the meeting and go home instead.

I immediately took off as soon as our teacher dismissed us. I was already on my way out of our building when I ran into James. He asked me where I was going but I couldn’t come up with an answer right away so I pretended that I didn’t hear him.

“Ha?” I said.

“We have a meeting. 4th floor Rm. 406. Saan ka pupunta?” he asked.

I had to come up with an excuse as to why I was in a fucking hurry and in the wrong direction. I tried to keep a straight face when I told him, “May papa-xerox lang ako, susunod ako” but he wasn’t convinced though. He could tell I was lying when he I saw him grinned from ear to ear. Fuck I’m screwed!

He slid his arm around my neck and said, “Mamaya na yan…”

“Kailangan ko pa ‘to ibalik sa may ari,” I told him.

“Bukas na”

“Di puwede, may quiz kasi bukas kailangan niya ‘to”

“Kanino ba yan papa-xerox mo?”

Fuck! Fuck! Fuck! I had more than 30 classmates and I couldn’t come up with a single name. My mind blacked out so I just gave up.

And with that smirk on his face (that could charm and annoy at the same time), he uttered three little words “I thought so…” and then laughed to my face.

“Fuck you man!” I said to him and then walked away pretty embarrassed.

He didn’t let me leave though and even when I tried to tell him more excuses why I should be home that instant, he believed none to be true.

We walked back up to the fourth floor and entered the last room at the end of the corridor together. I took a seat at the back and he went over to talk to our adviser.

The meeting concluded and the senior committee had chosen 6 members to train for the competition. I wasn’t one of them.

Part 3 of The Catholic School Boy Series: The Freshmen Year

Related Posts

Part 1 of The Catholic School Boy Series: The Freshmen Year
Part 2 of The Catholic School Boy Series: The Freshmen Year
Part 4 of The Catholic School Boy Series: The Freshmen Year
Part 5 of The Catholic School Boy Series: The Freshmen Year
Part 6 of The Catholic School Boy Series: The Freshmen Year
Part 7 of The Catholic School Boy Series: The Freshmen Year
Part 8 of The Catholic School Boy Series: The Freshmen Year

The (secret affairs of a) Catholic School Boy
Sex Education
Puppy Love

Leave a Reply

