I was wearing my favorite grey t-shirt from Oxygen, a black Billabong short and a pair of white sneakers from Adidas. I put on my NY Yankee cap, pulled my grey bomber jacket over my shoulders and walked out the door.

I hailed a cab right outside my friend’s house, went in, and told the cab driver where I was headed. It was a 20-minute ride from where I was and since it was already around half past 2 there was no traffic.

I like traveling at night, speeding through the narrow, winding streets of Manila, under the bright lights of the city I grew up in and loved.

I started to get a little nervous when I saw Wensha’s bright yellow and green neon sign a few blocks away. I got a little apprehensive and thought of backing out that moment. I’ve never been to a spa before and I was unsure of what to expect. I felt a little uneasy. I had to rely on what I could still remember from the blogs I read.

I paid the cab driver, stepped out and started for the door. The parking lot was almost empty, saved from a couple of cars parked right outside the establishment.

I headed for the entrance and the receptionist greeted me as I walked over to her. I asked if they’re massage / all-you-can-eat buffet was still available and she nodded. It cost me P680 which I handed to her in advance.

I felt my cheeks warmed and was a little afraid that I was looking redder than I was already. I blamed the alcohol.

The female receptionist, Anne, asked me to surrender my shoes to the counter right next to her and handed me over the key to my locker. The other female receptionist gave me a pair of slippers and pointed to the men’s wet area right behind me.

I walked inside and found a couple of male attendants folding robes and arranging towels. I grabbed one of each and looked for the locker number that corresponded to the one in my key.

I stripped to my birthday suit, wrapped the towel around my waist, and entered the wet area. I felt a little vulnerable (almost) naked and all but since there were only about 2 to 3 guys there, perhaps in their late 30s or early 40s, I brushed off my fear.

I’ve been half-naked at the gym but somehow there was a still feeling of uneasiness, probably because its a different atmosphere.

I entered the shower cubicle and turned the handle a few degrees to the side adjusting the temperature of the water coming out. I closed my eyes and relaxed.

Part 2 of At The Sauna

Related Posts

Part 5 of At The Sauna
Part 4 of At The Sauna
Part 3 of At The Sauna
At The Sauna

Leave a Reply

