2 Boys Kissing Each Other

I was the last member of my family to start smoking cigarettes. My mom, dad, and all my sisters smoke so I guess it was just a matter of time that I, too, the bunso will start the nasty habit. I picked up my first Marlboro when I was 15 just so I would look cool among my peers. I quit after 2 sticks.

Studies showed that people who started smoking earlier than the age of 21 are more susceptible to various health problems than those who started a bit later. Considering that 14 is now the average age of initiation for teens who smoke is a pretty big deal nowadays. It also raises the question as to whether the government is doing enough to prevent underage smoking in the country.

I started smoking again when I was 19. Ryan, my ex boyfriend, was a smoker and he somehow had an influence on me. Though he never offered me a cigarette I was the one who initiated.

Ryan and I went to the same college so we’d often see each other along the corridors. Sometimes we’d hook up somewhere private where no one can see us. In the dark sections of the library or in empty classrooms, but our rendezvous to male comfort rooms for some make out sessions (and ehem!) was the most exhilarating of all. Just the thought of getting caught in the act doing the deed thrilled me to the core. It also scared the shit out of me too.

Our relationship lasted for 6 months and it was within those months that I started smoking more and more frequently. I started with 1 to 2 sticks a day and eventually increased to 5, to 7, to 10 till it came to the point where I’m buying my own packs of Marlboro Lights.

My relationship with Ryan didn’t go as smoothly as I would have hoped for. Like all relationships we had problems and our differences became more obvious and apparent. We grew apart. We had different sets of priorities. He wanted to focus on his career and I wanted to focus on my studies. Then everything spiraled out of control when I changed my priority – when I made him my priority.

My college life started to fall apart in the span of 6 months that we’re together. I was on the verge of losing everything I worked hard for. I started failing. I started smoking more and more. I started drinking more and more.

Part 2 of A Higher Power

Related Posts

A Higher Power
Part 3 of A Higher Power

Leave a Reply

